Saturday, October 29, 2016

Edi's Weekend Wave issue #1644

Dear Readers,

on Friday our copy of the Skyrim Special Edition for PS4 arrived. So far I did not install the game. We need to check and decide which Mods to install (yes, there are mods for PS4), to prepare basic character sheets, and other stuff. Beside that Friday afternoon/evening I hit rock bottom of the week.
Which means I was happy to keep my eyes open for a certain period of time which I used to read some blog posts and watch a few videos.


ENJOY READING ...


Edi's Guidepost

The Lighthouse
News and information straight from the horse's mouth by Lighthouse keeper ediFanoB


  1. Reading progress 
Books
The latest report from our shelf shop net correspondent Bona
  1. New books on my shelf/reader or when one book leads to another 
  2. Alt Hist 9
  3. James D. Oswald interview
Blogosphere
Messages from the depths of the blogosphere by spheronaut Bona Fide
  1. A famous library
  2. Fakery
  3. Eight Legs
  4. Diet

Movies
Remote control junkie Fide and his zapping highlights
  1. Street Magic

Quotes
The member of the house of quotes and a quote himself the Keeper of the minutes ( we call him Kotm) fished for you
  1. German proverbs, sayings and idioms Quote related to observation

The Lighthouse
Last week I finished one book and one short story. Now the time has come to read "bricks". The first book stands for 1065 pages and the second book stands for 717 pages. This is not a good choice from the point of view of my reading challenge. But I'm in the right mood for epic fantasy.
I finished

- Magpie Murders (digital, 6th October 2016) [Kindle Edition ASIN:  B01EG5HLR4 ] by Anthony Horowitz
I wrote on GOODREADS:
"I absolutely loved this exquisite homage to the Golden Age of Crime.
It was a clever choice by the author to tell the story as a novel within a novel.
Strong characters in a story with a lot of twist and turns deliver excellent entertainment.

Atticus Pünd - what an unforgettable name for a private detective!"


- The Hunt (digital, December 2015) [Kindle edition ASIN: B017N02PH0] by Oscar de Muriel.
I wrote on GOODREADS:
"I think it is more than fair to tell potential readers that this short story does not contain a Frey and McGray case. It does not contain any crime.
In fact the short story delivers an insight of the Frey family which is most interesting for fans of the series and to be honest I liked a lot.
I'm a fan of the series and I like the style of the author. Based on that I rate the short story with four stars."


Yes, I'm reading a real book.
- I'm on page 16  in The Fell Sword (pb, October 2014) [ISBN: 978-0575113343] by Miles Cameron which is the second book in Miles Cameron's  The Traitor Son Cycle.
I liked the first book in the series a lot and the average rating of 4.28 stars over at GOODREADS seams to be a good omen.


My reader shows different paging. therefore I change to percentage for digital books as it is possible to see on GOODREADS.


- 2% done in The Forgotten War (digital, 16th February 2014) [Kindle Edition ASIN:   B00II69U22] by Howard Sargent
Not enough read for a first comment



- 43% done in The Jade Owl(digital, 23rd October 2008) [Kindle ASIN: B001J54AWO] by Edward C. Patterson which is the first book in The Jade Owl Legacy.
No progress. I was not in the right mood for the book.



Enjoy your weekend ....


Books

Dear readers, I'm the one to tell you about books - only books? What about novellas and other stuff? My name is Bona. I scour shelves, shops and the net for books. If you call me a book whore I would not gainsay you. But be aware I have my own, sometimes elusive taste.
New books on my shelf/reader or when one book leads to another

End of the month means not much money left for new books. Even I now started to read two real epic fantasy "bricks" I still can't deny my love of crime fiction and when I found cheap offers for following books I bought copies of them.

I read the prelude of following book and I was hooked. It was enough to get a copy of  Anglesey Blue (digital, 30th September 2016) [Kindle edition ASIN: 
B01LWUHBL2] by Dylan H. Jones which is the first book in the new Tudor Manx Mysteries series.
"MURDER. BETRAYAL. REVENGE.
It’s not the homecoming Detective Inspector Tudor Manx was expecting, but solving the case is the just the start of his problems.

A brutally mutilated body found crucified to the bow of a fishing boat sends shockwaves through the peaceful haven of Anglesey.

Is it a message or a premonition of more murders to come?

Detective Inspector Tudor Manx, a smart, hard-drinking, cigar-smoking policeman is assigned to the case - his first murder investigation since being transferred to the North Wales Constabulary from the London Metropolitan Police Specialist Crime and Operations Unit.

Manx’s hopes for a quiet life on the island are abruptly dashed when he’s pressured to solve the case quickly with an inexperienced team.

Adding to his mounting problems, Manx’s troubled past returns to haunt him. The last time he stepped foot on Anglesey, he was still a teenager. Manx left the island after the disappearance of his younger sister, Miriam; a cold-case that still remains unsolved.

In the closing hours of the investigation, a devastating revelation tests Manx’s razor-sharp instincts and forces him to choose between his family and his duty as a police officer." [Source]
I have a knack for female main characters be it in books, video games or films.
It is one of the reasons why I'm looking forward to play Skyrim Special Edition on PS4. And it is also one of the reasons why I bought digital copies of following two books which belong to the DCI Mathilda Darke series.

For Reasons Unknown (digital, 1st October 2015) [Kindle edition ASIN: 
B010L6L3NK] by Michael Wood.
"Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…" [Source]
For Reasons Unknown (digital, 26th May 2016) [Kindle edition ASIN: 
B01BS9XGOS] by Michael Wood.
"The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead. The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again." [Source]



Alt Hist Issue 9
For all of you who do not know  Alt Hist: Historical Fiction and Alternate History, let me repeat the explanation by editor Mark Lord.


"Alt Hist, http://althistfiction.com, is the new magazine of Historical Fiction and Alternate History. Lovers of historical fiction for too long have been denied outlets for short pieces of fiction, as the number of print and online magazines for historical short fiction is very limited compared to the popularity of fiction set in past times. Alt Hist’s mission is to provide readers with entertaining and well-written short stories with a historical setting, whether portraying actual events or events that could have happened. If you read and enjoy historical fiction, alternate history or historical fantasy then we think you will like Alt Hist." [Source]



James D. Oswald interview
He is an author and best known for his Inspector McLean series. But did you know that he is also the author of the fantasy series The Ballad of Sir Benfro.
If you want to know a bit more about the author and his books then I recommend to visit Civilian Reader and enjoy




No more today, see you next week ......


Blogosphere

Hey, I'm Bona Fide. I just came back from my last foray through the blogosphere. What can you expect from me? I tell you: Everything from Art to Fart as long as there is any faint connection to books. And here is some honey from the beehive blogosphere...

A famous library
Did you know that the British Library was created on 1st of July 1973. To be honest I thought it was much older.
There are more astonishing things to discover. You would like to get more information? Then visit TimeOut and read



Fakery 
First I was not sure whether the word is a real one or not. But dictionary confirmed that fakery is nothing artificial.
Visit WebUrbanist and have a look at



Eight legs
You know an animal with eight legs? Anyway you should be careful when you meet one as shown over at WebUrbanist



Diet
In principle a diet is nothing bad as long as you don't overdo it. But there are specific diets which I would never try. I admit I did not feel well when I read following post over at Atlas Obscura





That's it for today. Come back next week for more ......


Movies

Hey, it's me Fide. I'm a remote control professional. I'm that fast that I can watch two movies at the same time.

In case you haven't seen yet following video then do it now. It is just hilarious.



That's it for today. Come back next week for more ......


Quotes
I 'm the Keeper of the minutes. But I don't mind when you call me Kotm. No, no. I don't explain to you how to pronounce.

I think the following quote fits to Red Dead Redemption ....


"You can observe a lot just by watching."

Yogi Berra, American professional baseball player, manager and coach, 1925 - 2015

2 comments:

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

That's my card! Funny.
Enjoy the Special Edition. Trying not to get into anything that would be a time suck.
The miniatures for the ads were cool. (And would be a fun job.)
Speaking of spiders, a blogger buddy posted about one videotaped pulling a dead mouse up the side of a fridge, and it was not a tarantula.

ediFanoB said...

Hi Alex,
weekend starts now.
Finished another exhausting week.
I reserved time for reading and reviewing of CassaDawn.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...