Thursday, January 14, 2016

My problem with Beyond Redemption by Michael R. Fletscher

Dear Readers,

on 19th of December 2015 I wrote:

"You find some praising reviews from blogger I trust over at GOODREADS for the following book which has been on my to buy list for a while. Now I own a copy of the epic dark fantasy Beyond Redemption (digital, June 2015) [ Kindle Edition ASIN:  B00NUV1LJK] by Michael R. Fletcher."

"A darkly imaginative writer in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Neil Gaiman conjures a gritty mind-bending fantasy, set in a world where delusion becomes reality . . . and the fulfillment of humanity’s desires may well prove to be its undoing.

When belief defines reality, those with the strongest convictions—the crazy, the obsessive, the delusional—have the power to shape the world.

And someone is just mad enough to believe he can create a god . . .

Violent and dark, the world is filled with the Geistrekranken—men and women whose delusions manifest. Sustained by their own belief—and the beliefs of those around them—they can manipulate their surroundings. For the High Priest Konig, that means creating order out of the chaos in his city-state, leading his believers to focus on one thing: helping a young man, Morgen, ascend to become a god. A god they can control.

Trouble is, there are many who would see a god in their thrall, including the High Priest’s own doppelgangers, a Slaver no one can resist, and three slaves led by possibly the only sane man left.

As these forces converge on the boy, there’s one more obstacle: time is running out. Because as the delusions become more powerful, the also become harder to control. The fate of the Geistrekranken is to inevitably find oneself in the Afterdeath. The question, then, is:

Who will rule there?" [SOURCE]
Yesterday (2016-01-13) I started to read  Beyond Redemption and after ten minutes I quit.

 It was not possible for me to read AND enjoy the book!

German is my first language but I love to read books in English. Most of the time my language skill is sufficient to understand what I read and should there be a term I do not understand,  I don't mind to use a dictionary.

Beyond Redemption is special when it comes to use of language.

Maybe I should have taken the last sentence of the author's note more seriously:
"Apologies to those who can actually speak German"

Maybe I should have read the Beyond Redemption Wiki before I started reading the book.
"I don't speak German. I also don't speak Basque. I appropriated these languages because I liked the way they sounded and looked. Yes, I write at least in part with an eye toward how words look. 
[...]
So. If you speak these languages, my horrendous abuse may upset you. Such is life. I hope you can get beyond my sins and enjoy the story for what it is. Whatever it is." 

Of course it is the freedom of the author to name characters and name of cities as he/she wants.

And that is in the end my problem with the book - the names.

I can cope with names in other languages and I also can cope with many characters in a book.

BUT the names of characters and cities used in Beyond Redemption hindered me to enjoy the story and lead to an impaired reading fluency.

I can't judge the book because I did not finish it.
I can't complain about the author BECAUSE I did note take the warning of the author seriously.

The only thing I can say is:  Beyond Redemption did not work for me.

The lesson I learned is to use the information given by the author properly and reviews do not mention everything.

Finally I highly recommend to read the Beyond Redemption Wiki before you read the book and build up your mind.



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...