Saturday, September 26, 2015

Edi's Weekend Wave issue #1539

Dear Readers,
a busy week followed by a weekend without time to rest.
Finally the time has come to upgrade the PC from my wife from Win XP to Win 7. The good thing is that I did not need to by new hardware. I also decided to use the Windows Easy-Transfer program. There is a lot of data to be transferred. I use the time to write this post.
I'm using now a new "old" laptop. I got a Lenovo T520 from the company and yesterday evening I installed Linux Mint 17.2 "Rafaela" with MATE desktop on it.

On the two previous laptops I used openSUSE. Why the change?

First of all this version will be support until 2019 which is a really long time. What I really appreciate is the fact that this distribution comes with a software package which is more or less ready to use. It delivers everything I need at once.
The only things I added was my Firefox profile and I installed CALIBRE.
I understand why Linux Mint is so popular. It makes it really easy to change from the Windows world into the world of Linux.

In case you want to give Linux a try I recommend to use Linux Mint.


ENJOY READING ....

Edi's Guidepost

The Lighthouse
News and information straight from the horse's mouth by Lighthouse keeper ediFanoB


  1. Reading progress 
Books
The latest report from our shelf shop net correspondent Bona
  1. New books on my shelf/reader or when one book leads to another 
Blogosphere
Messages from the depths of the blogosphere by spheronaut Bona Fide
  1. The Enterprise-D Construction Project
  2. A special 3D printer
  3. An awesome museum
  4. Get more space
  5. Epic Fantasy update

Movies
Remote control junkie Fide and his zapping highlights
  1. Endurance/Ausdauer

Quotes
The member of the house of quotes and a quote himself the Keeper of the minutes ( we call him Kotm) fished for you
  1. German proverbs, sayings and idiomsQuote related to greatness
The Lighthouse
There was not much time for reading. Therefore I'm happy that I finished one book, continued one and started a new one. I hope to find more time for reading next week.



I finished

- Judas Unchained  (first published in 2004; digital 2004)  [Kindle Edition ASIN: B000FCKPJ4] by Peter F. Hamilton
I wrote on GOODREADS:
"What shall I say? It is as brilliant as the first part of the Commonwealth Saga.
This is indeed epic science fiction. I'm really impressed. Despite the facts that a lot of things happen and that there are many characters I never felt lost.
A lot has been written about the Commonwealth saga and I do not want to repeat what you can read in a lot of reviews.

I asked myself why I did not read these books earlier. But better now then never.

If you like science fiction you should give the Commonwealth Saga a try. There is no reason to be afraid of the number of pages."


I'm

- 154 pages in A Crown for Cold Silver (pb, September 2015) [ISBN-13: 978-0356502830] by Alex Marshall - So for nobody knows the real author behind the pen name.
Read only one chapter.


- 129 pages in A Murder of Mages (digital, July 2015) [ Kindle Edition ASIN: B00PT4J12K.] by Marshall Ryan Maresca.
I like both main characters Satrine Rainey and Minox Welling a lot and the setting is interesting.

No progress

- 168 pages in Hunter of Sherwood: The Red Hand (pb, 30th December 2015) [ISBN-13: 978-1781082904] by Toby Venables
It is good and I want to enjoy it. But I need to be in the right mood. Will return to the book when I'm ready for it.


 Enjoy your weekend ....



Books

Dear readers, I'm the one to tell you about books - only books? What about novellas and other stuff? My name is Bona. I scour shelves, shops and the net for books. If you call me a book whore I would not gainsay you. But be aware I have my own, sometimes elusive taste.
New books on my shelf/reader or when one book leads to another

Last week I told you that I used up my September book budget. Nevertheless I bought one digital copy and got one for free. How so? 
The publishing date of one of the books I ordered in advance has been postponed. Therefore I could use the budget for this book to buy an other book which was not part of my to buy book list. In the end it was more less the guilt of Wendell the creator of Bookwraiths. He wrote and published a totally convincing review about When the Heavens Fall (digital, May 2015) [ Kindle Edition ASIN: B00WQ5CUX2] by Marc Turner which is the first book in The Chronicle of the Exile.
"The first of an epic swords & sorcery fantasy series for fans of Patrick Rothfuss, When the Heavens Fall features gritty characters, deadly magic, and meddlesome gods.

If you pick a fight with Shroud, the Lord of the Dead, you had better make sure you end up on the winning side, else death will mark only the beginning of your suffering.

A book that gives its wielder power over the dead has been stolen from a fellowship of mages that has kept the powerful relic dormant for centuries. The thief, a crafty, power-hungry necromancer, intends to use the Book of Lost Souls to resurrect an ancient race and challenge Shroud for dominion of the underworld. Shroud counters by sending his most formidable servants to seize the artifact at all cost.

However, the god is not the only one interested in the Book, and a host of other forces converge, drawn by the powerful magic that has been unleashed. Among them is a reluctant Guardian who is commissioned by the Emperor to find the stolen Book, a troubled prince who battles enemies both personal and political, and a young girl of great power, whose past uniquely prepares her for an encounter with Shroud. The greatest threat to each of their quests lies not in the horror of an undead army but in the risk of betrayal from those closest to them. Each of their decisions comes at a personal cost and will not only affect them, but also determine the fate of their entire empire." [Source]
Now I hope I will enjoy the book as much as Wendell did.

The second book for today has been on my to buy list. A few days ago I checked my books to buy list on Amazon and to my surprise I found The Archivist (digital, April 2012) [ Kindle Edition ASIN: B0127X3OQO] by Tom D Wright. Of course I "bought" a copy immediately.
"In 2052, Artificial Intelligence surpasses humans, and global technology collapses overnight. Thirty years later, primitive communities struggle to survive. Throughout this broken world, a secret organization called The Archives seeks to preserve what knowledge and technology has been left in the ashes. However, a Luddite cult-The Disciples of Earth-is just as determined to ensure there will be no technological rebirth for humankind.

Retrieval Archivist K’Marr’s mission seems : make contact with a source in a remote port town and trade vital technology that could secure humankind’s future.

But few retrievals are ever easy.

While keeping his promise to a dying man and avoiding Disciples who seem to know his every move, K’Marr fights to complete his mission and get back home to the woman he loves. Against the odds, The Archivist must do everything he can to return to The Archives." [Source]
While adding the information for The Archivist I have had a look at Amazon. Of course the book is no more longer free but if you are interested in you can get it at

Amazon US for 1.11 USD
Amazon UK for 0.99 GBP
Amazon DE for 0,99 EUR





No more today, see you next week ......


Blogosphere

Hey, I'm Bona Fide. I just came back from my last foray through the blogosphere. What can you expect from me? I tell you: Everything from Art to Fart as long as there is any faint connection to books. And here is some honey from the beehive blogosphere...



The Enterprise-D Construction Project
There are still a lot of science fiction enthusiasts out there.
"To create the entirety of the USS Enterprise NCC-1701-D in the Unreal Game Engine."


This is the project goal of the



Visit the site and watch the first ten minute video. It is absolutley amazing and impressive. If like the project you can support it.


A special 3D printer
3D printer open a lot of possibilities. Even the development of 3D printers open new areas. You will agree as soon as you visit the WebUrbanist and have a look at




An awesome museum
Museums are fantastical places. Today I want to show you a museum which displays absolutely amazing objects. This is a must see. Head over to the  WebUrbanist and admire what you will see at




Get more space
The world gets more and more crowded and of course there are people thinking about how to get more space. But not every Utopian dream should come true. Over at WebUrbanist you can build up your mind about one of these Utopian dreams. 





Epic Fantasy - Update
In the past weeks I informed you about an excellent post series over at The Wertzone. Adam Whitehead, who is the mastermind of the blog, started to write about the history of epic fantasy. In the meantime two more posts are available and they are excellent.
















That's it for today. Come back next week for more ......


Movies

Hey, it's me Fide. I'm a remote control professional. I'm that fast that I can watch two movies at the same time.

Less than two months to go until one of my most anticipated video games will be available:

Until then I will enjoy the FALLOUT 4 S.P.E.C.I.A.L. video series.

The third video available and it is about ENDURANCE or as we say in German AUSDAUER.
I'm happy to present you the video in two different languages.




Bethesda really knows how to tease people. Since I watched the following video I want to create my character NOW!! I love the perk chart. So many choices.



That's it for today. Come back next week for more ......


Quotes
I 'm the Keeper of the minutes. But I don't mind when you call me Kotm. No, no. I don't explain to you how to pronounce.

The following quote does not fit to me but I'm not sad about it because you can be happy without the things mentioned in the quote .....

"Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some hire public relations officers.

Daniel J. Boorstin, US historian, 1914 - 2004

5 comments:

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Fallout 4! Six weeks away now.
Will explore the Enterprise site further.
And not sure I'd want to live on water. I guess since our area is prone to hurricanes, it just seems like a bad idea.

Zoltán Gecse said...

I updated my desktop PC's operating system from Windows 7 to Windows 10 a month ago.

ediFanoB said...

Hi Alex,
sorry for late reply. The PC of my wife kept me really busy.

YES! FALLOUT 4 is coming nearer with every day passed.

ediFanoB said...

Hi Zoltán,

sorry for the late reply. The PC of my wife kept me busy.
So you know what it means to change operating system.

What do you think aboutWindows 10? Are you happy with it?

We use still Windows 7 in our company. I asked my colleagues from network department if there are any plans to switch to Windows 10 and they said no.



I updated my desktop PC's operatin

Zoltán Gecse said...

Before the OS change, I replaced my desktop PC's motherboard, CPU and put 8Gb RAM into it. I was lazy, so I didn't do a clean Win7 reinstall, I just let the system to install the necessary components. Unfortunately this operation didn't clean the system from the drivers of the old components. And after 1-2 weeks usage, I updated the Win7 to Win10.

I want to buy a better graphics card to my desktop PC at the end of the year, and maybe that time I'll do a proper, clean Windows 7 reinstall + Windows 10 upgrade.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...