Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Sela Blog Tour: Like a Moth to Dragon Flame by Jackie Gamber

Dear Readers,

welcome to a special day on Edi's Book Lighthouse.

When it comes to dragons I do not jubilate like many other people. They do not belong to my favorite fabulous creatures. The reason for that is another topic. But as you may understand this is a reason why I seldom read books where dragons play a significant role.
Fortunately I know people who find ways and means toconvince me to read "dragon" books. One of them is author Stephen Zimmer. He is guilty that I read Redheart (April 19th, 2011) [ISBN-13: 978-0983108672] by Jackie Gamber which is book one in The Leland Dragon Series.

And the Leland Dragon series continues with Sela.
When Stephen Zimmer asked me if I would like to be part of
two reasons persuaded me to accept:
- I really liked Redheart even I did not write a review so far
- It gives the opportunity to get more information about an author and her/his books

So I jumped at the opportunity and asked for a guest post. I wanted to know why Jackie Gamber likes dragons so much that she writes a series starring dragons.

What shall I say?

I'm happy and proud to have Jackie Gamber on the Lighthouse today (Authors listen to wishes).

“Like a Moth to Dragon Flame”
By Jackie Gamber, author of REDHEART and SELA, Books One and Two of the Leland Dragon Series

The mention of dragons can be found throughout multiple cultures: Asia, South America, Europe, even Australia. Symbols of luck, or power, wisdom, or even being able to see “the big picture” (due to their higher vantage point), dragons are steeped in our histories and our collective psyches.

But, why?

I can’t speak to thousands of years, or for thousands of people, but I know what fascinates me about the magnificent creatures. Look at the amazing things they can do! Breathe fire (or poison, or ice, or any imaginable breathable substance), fly, take an arrow to the chest and live. They are mighty. Overpowering. Mysterious.

Kallon Redheart (of Book One) first introduced himself to me in a dream. At the time, he had no name. He was just a red dragon, and somehow, I understood that dragon to be me.

Eventually, the dream faded, but Kallon lingered, and he developed into a character with his own story to tell. But I still remember how he was “born” from the depths of my subconscious with a message.

The way our cultural symbols, throughout time, have carried messages from one subconscious mind to another. Faster than a blink. With an understanding we often can’t even put into words.

For me, dragons are magic. They have answers that humans are still too young to even know how to ask for. They have been part of the mystery that is living higher. Stronger. Above the pettiness.

The message of my dream was that I could be that dragon of power. To choose. To fly. To believe.

It’s the same message reflected in Kallon Redheart’s story. And in the story of Sela, Book Two of the series.

It’s a message for anyone who sees a dragon, but understands a symbol. And who dreams, more than anything, of learning how to fly.

Jackie Gamber is the award-winning author of “Redheart” and “Sela”, Books One and Two of the Leland Dragon Series, now available! For more information about Jackie and her mosaic mind, visit http://www.jackiegamber.com


And meet Jackie elsewhere on the world wide web at:

http://www.amazon.com/author/JackieGamber

http://www.twitter.com/JackieGamber

http://www.facebook.com/jackiegamber

http://www.lelanddragons.com


Jackie Gamber, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with me and my readers.

I told you at the beginning of this post that dragons do not belong to my favorite fabulous creatures. But I read and liked Redheart. That means there is something magic in this book. I think most of you like dragons more than I do. So if you did not read Redheart so far then it is time to have a look at it. For readers of Redheart, Sela is a must read.
If Jackie Gamber could not convince you then you should use following links where you can have a look inside the books. By the way both books are available as softcover and in digital format.

4 comments:

Kittie Howard said...

There IS something magical about dragons that tickles the imagination. Thank you for these interesting reviews. My TBR list grows nicely.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

Sound like great reads to me!

ediFanoB said...

@Kitty.

visiting blogs is a "curse" for the TBR list.

Hope you will find time to read Jackie Gamber's books.

ediFanoB said...

@Alex,

you are really everywhere. I can't imagine that you have time for reading.

Maybe you have eyes like a chameleon which you can move separately ;-)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...